Home > ubuntu > Lotus Notes 8.5.2 + Ubuntu 10.10 = working, out of the box

Lotus Notes 8.5.2 + Ubuntu 10.10 = working, out of the box

Wow, they got it all right this time. Everything works without any tinkering – thanks IBM, you made my day. Seriously.

Disclaimer: On x86 that is.

Categories: ubuntu Tags: , , ,
  1. Saqib Sultan Khan
    October 1, 2010 at 9:28 am

    I installed it on Ubuntu 10.04 and I have a problem with the calender. As soon as I change to calender, the client hangs.
    By the way r u using 32-bit or 64 bit? I am also looking for installing the windows version using crossover but withou success. Do you have any experience in this regard?

    Regards,
    Saqib

    • Gordon Schulz
      October 2, 2010 at 9:27 am

      Never had any issues with the calendar really. Which version of Notes are you using? 8.5.2? Maybe following this post might help? I tried to install the Windows version of Notes using a vanilla wine, but it borked at the installer level. So I gave up on that since the Linux client works really, really well for me nowadays. In my opinion the native client is the way to pursue.
      I am using 32bit. The few pros of 64bit do not outweigh the many cons I still encounter when relying on proprietary software – which unfortunately I have to. Good luck with your tries!

  2. sandeep
    April 18, 2011 at 7:28 am

    Please help urgent

    i installed lotus notes 8.5 in ubuntu 10.10 but when i click on lotus notes to run
    it comes and then go without starting please help urgent

    Thanks in advance

    • April 19, 2011 at 8:06 am

      Could you please try starting Notes in a terminal and paste me the output it spits out? Usually the startup-crash-thingie happens when required dependencies are not installed.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

