Home > linux > Back on Sidux

Back on Sidux

Yeah, my distribution hopping days are over once again and I’m back on … Sidux. For the bit tech savvy there just isn’t a better distribution, if you just kinda know your way around in any xBuntu you shouldn’t have a problem handling Sidux. Just a bit more caution when doing updates, that’s it.

But…

  • What distribution installs into a working system in little over 2 minutes?
  • What distribution is powered by Debian technoloy AND is on a rolling release?
  • Doesn’t use the stupid (K)networkmanager. Honestly, I hate it. Or I can’t see the advantages. Asking for trouble once your X gets fried and no networking on console.
  • On the above… Ceni
  • Debian
  • What distributions actually gets you up-to-date versions of the software you use daily? Apart from source distributions like Gentoo.
  • SMXI is awesome. Period.
  • KDE is the default desktop and gets the love.
  • Debian
  • Enable contrib and non-free repositories and multimedia is-a-go.
  • Honestly, the fonts outta the box are the best I have seen on any distribution (well, after one says hi to /etc/fonts/conf.avail/10-autohint.conf). Why oh why do some distributions still not pay attention+1 to their font configs? It’s the first thing a user sees and the last thing once he shuts down his machine at the evening.
  • Awesome developers and maintainers.

Guess there a gazillion more points I like about Sidux. Not suited for all my machines because it’s too bleeding edge at times (read: work laptop), but on my Desktop… Here to stay.

Categories: linux Tags: ,
  1. mdev
    August 3, 2008 at 1:47 am

    “after one says hi to /etc/fonts/conf.avail/10-autohint.conf”…

    Interested to know what you have in this file, as well as 10-sub-pixel-rgb.conf, and your ~/.font.config.

    I found that the Sidux live CD (2008-2) had wonderful font rendering but after install to hard drive I’ve been having a very hard time emulating it. I would’ve thought that the install would have been identical, but for some reason it’s not. Tried all sorts of things: from package reconfiguring (dpkg-reconfigure fontconfig-config) to booting up the cd and seeing what it had configured (answer: not a lot! KDE CC has anti aliasing set to “system” and .font.config had very little – needless to say these settings didn’t work for me).

    Anyway, I’ve played around with my local font.config and managed to improve things, but it still doesn’t look as wonderful as the Live CD. What’s the secret? 🙂

  2. Gordon Schulz
    August 3, 2008 at 8:43 am

    I’ll send you a mail with my settings, maybe that’ll help.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

