Home > kde, linux > Installing Lotus Notes 8 on Kubuntu Hardy 8.04

Installing Lotus Notes 8 on Kubuntu Hardy 8.04

Since I gave in and switched from Sidux to the new Kubuntu 8.04 – simply because Sidux just was too bleeding edge for my work rig, too many kernel switches and the new 2.6.25 totally borking my Cisco VPN Client – I had to install Lotus Notes 8.01 … Again. And it was horror again. So just for future reference I should write down what made it work.

Stuff you need to install/do on a stock Kubuntu:

# sudo apt-get install libstdc++5 libgnomecanvas2-0 \
  libgnomeprint2.2-0 libgnomeprintui2.2-0 \
  libgnomevfs2-0 libgnome2-0 libgnomeui-0
# cp <notesinstalldatadirectory>/deploy/install.xml /root
# sudo mkdir -p /etc/lotus/notes
# sudo touch /etc/lotus/notes/notesrc

Launch Installer, install away. Should work. At least did the job for me.

Categories: kde, linux Tags: , ,
  1. soulwarrior
    May 7, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    Installing libstdc++5 did it under unbuntu with gnome desktop.
    Before that, the installation always crashed with a locking assertion failure.

    Thank you πŸ™‚

  2. gordonazmo
    May 7, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    Wow, Google was quick to pick that post up. Glad it worked for you! πŸ™‚

  3. May 27, 2008 at 8:13 am

    Thanks for the help man. Install libstdc++5 solved the problem in ubuntu hardy. πŸ™‚

  4. GArcher
    June 23, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    Still not working for me:(

  5. Regenkind
    June 24, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Thank you for your post!!!
    I installed Notes 8.5 Beta 1 on an Kubuntu 8.04 and had a rendering problem when opening html-Emails. Once apt-get installed gcc-3.3-base libstdc++5, (due to your posted command) everything worked out smoothly.
    THX!

  6. Gordon Schulz
    June 24, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    GArcher: any detailed Info on what’s not working? I got quite some “experience” with that piece-o-crap software, maybe we can find a solution.

    Regenkind: Totally glad to hear. πŸ™‚

  7. James
    July 9, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    I’ve done just about everything I can with a new Ubuntu Hardy 64 Bit install. I’ve researched the following links:

    And I came across your post via a bugtracker.

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/xorg-server/+bug/185311

    I had all packages installed except for the libstdc++5. When I go to run the installer, it errors out with a java error about libX11.so.6 not found. Of course, the lib is there, but this 32bit Java is confused.

    I finally stopped GDM, cleaned up all of the attempts and blew away everything /tmp and restarted GDM. I tried things in this order, a combination of the links above.

    1. I just tried a normal install.

    $ sudo ./setup.sh

    I get the same error, libX11.so.6 not found.

    2. I tried using the 1st links 32bit library.

    sudo LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/32bit_libs ./setup.sh

    I get farther along, but then I get an error, Locking assertion failure.

    3. I then tried to set the environment variable for a sloppy lock.

    export LIBXCB_ALLOW_SLOPPY_LOCK=true

    That results in the same exact error as #2. But from what I have read, the libxcb_xlib doesn’t allow that work around anymore (not a bug BTW).

    I’m about at my wits end. I’ve tried so many things that I am starting to lose track. I really don’t want to downgrade a brand new 4GB of RAM Laptop to 32 bit. But I’ve got to have Lotus Notes. It would just be easier if IBM would get on the 64Bit Bandwagon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

