Home > linux, worldofwarcraft > Introducing Leshock on Crossover Games

Introducing Leshock on Crossover Games

Yes, I wanted to quit World of Warcraft. Yes, I tried. But somehow I keep coming back. What got my interest back (or so I say to myself) is the release of Codeweaver’s Crossover Games. Granted, i played WoW on Linux with vanilla Wine in the past. It worked, but it had it’s hiccups. Sound was suboptimal at best, it stuttered and forgot to play sounds. Graphics were ok, but still a bit behind the Windows version. Enter Crossover Games

Now, when I stopped playing on Linux was like a year ago and I didn’t follow Wine’s progress anymore really – so I guess most of the stuff was fixed in the vanilla Wine, too. What made my Crossover Game’s experience so nice is… Well, it just works. I decided to go for a user install of Crossover and then just chose the option to install World of Warcraft. Popped in my CDs, followed by The Burning Crusade CDs, patched to 2.4.1 and then… Heck, it just worked. Graphics are crispy, sound is awesome, that stuff just works.
What still amazes me is that WoW on Linux with a full blown loaded KDE desktop takes up just about 500-600MB of RAM, while under Windows Vista your machine is choking with anything below 2 Gigabytes of RAM. Talk about efficiency. It loads up blazingly fast, it shuts down blazingly fast and FPS never drop under 60 on my not-so-cool machine. So to close my praise of Crossover Games – I bought it. 37€ isn’t cheap, but that’s with updates for a whole year and Codeweavers are the financial backer of the Wine project – so I know that the money will do good for Wine as a whole. Sure could have configured and optimized vanilla Wine, but hey… support where support is due.

Oh… And if you are playing World of Warcraft under Linux – drop Blizzard a note that you do. While they do not officially support playing their game under Linux, I think they should take note of people that do.

Oh yeah, I even did some stuff in the game. 🙂 Introducing Leshock after all, eh? I rolled a Tauren Shaman on the German server Sen’Jin – I know I will regret having started on a German speaking server again… But somehow I am masochist after all. Let’s see how many idiots are around, this time.
Two screenshots of me doing stuff – I know my UI is still messed up like hell, but I didn’t feel like doing all the polish. Got the most important addons going except for Pitbull, so I am at least set for my casual play these days. Which is what I plan to do – take it casually to 70, then check what I can do in my limited playtime.

Just for the record and for those who might be interested… My current Config.wtf:

SET SoundOutputSystem "1"
SET SoundBufferSize "232"
SET gxApi "opengl"
SET ffxDeath "0"
SET gxMultisampleQuality "0.000000"
SET gxFixLag "0"
SET fullAlpha "1"
SET lodDist "100.000000"
SET SmallCull "0.010000"
SET DistCull "500.000000"
SET farclip "777"
SET particleDensity "1.000000"
SET unitDrawDist "300.000000"
SET gxCursor "0"
SET weatherDensity "3"
SET pixelShaders "1"
SET ffxGlow "0"
SET locale "enGB"
SET coresDetected "2"
SET hwDetect "0"
SET gxColorBits "24"
SET gxDepthBits "24"
SET gxResolution "1600x1200"
SET gxRefresh "50"
SET videoOptionsVersion "1"
SET textureFilteringMode "3"
SET movie "0"
SET expansionMovie "0"
SET Gamma "1.000000"
SET readTOS "1"
SET readEULA "1"
SET readTerminationWithoutNotice "1"
SET readScanning "-1"
SET showToolsUI "1"
SET Sound_VoiceChatInputDriverName "System Default"
SET Sound_VoiceChatOutputDriverName "System Default"
SET Sound_OutputDriverName "USB Audio"
SET realmList "eu.logon.worldofwarcraft.com"
SET patchlist "eu.version.worldofwarcraft.com"
SET shadowLevel "0"
SET specular "1"
SET groundEffectDensity "64"
SET groundEffectDist "140"
SET cameraPitchMoveSpeed "90"
SET cameraPitchSmoothSpeed "45"
SET realmName "Sen'jin"
SET uiScale "1"
SET profanityFilter "0"
SET ChatMusicVolume "0.30000001192093"
SET ChatSoundVolume "0.40000000596046"
SET ChatAmbienceVolume "0.30000001192093"
SET Sound_EnableErrorSpeech "0"
SET Sound_MasterVolume "1"
SET Sound_SFXVolume "1"
SET Sound_MusicVolume "0.40000000596046"
SET Sound_AmbienceVolume "0.60000002384186"
SET gameTip "19"
SET OutboundChatVolume "1"
SET InboundChatVolume "1"
SET VoiceActivationSensitivity "0.40000003576279"
SET questFadingDisable "1"
SET fctCombatState "1"
SET fctDodgeParryMiss "1"
SET fctDamageReduction "1"
SET fctRepChanges "1"
SET fctReactives "1"
SET fctFriendlyHealers "1"
SET fctLowManaHealth "1"
SET fctEnergyGains "1"
SET fctHonorGains "1"
SET fctAuras "1"
SET showNewbieTips "0"
SET checkAddonVersion "0"
SET scriptErrors "1"
SET cameraDistanceMaxFactor "2"
SET autoQuestWatch "0"
SET readContest "-1"
SET CombatDamage "0"
SET CombatHealing "0"
SET Sound_OutputDriverIndex "2"

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

