Home > linux, rants, uncategorized, unix > “reset high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 3″, your syslog and what fixed it for me

“reset high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 3″, your syslog and what fixed it for me

If you use external USB drives (be it SD-Cards, Hard Disk or Thumbs) and your drive(s) seem to hang from time to time while spitting out “[...] reset high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 3 [...]” in your syslogs, the following fixed it for me.

My one little 320GB 2.5″ external Western Digital USB hard drive had this issue, while the big ones didn’t – seems like it is somehow related to being powered by the bus itself or using a dedicated power supply. Anyway, the drive seemed to hang on large file transactions (like copying a big file) and then the kernel had to reset it, announcing it via the syslog. Very annoying, especially because SMB transfers always got interrupted and went totally  foobar. The fix was quite simple. max_sectors for the drive was set to its default 240 value, which the drive choked on for no apparent reason whatsoever. Issuing a quick
echo 128 > /sys/block/sdc/device/max_sectors
fixed it. YMMV. Of course replace sdc with the actual node of your drive.

Categories: linux, rants, uncategorized, unix Tags: , , , ,
  1. Dan
    September 27, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    Ive got a WD Elements 1tb disk which does exactly this. Just to provide a little feedback, max_sectors didnt do the trick for me. Watching movies from a disk that “resets” every 6-7 minutes is reeaally annoying.

    • Gordon Schulz
      October 1, 2010 at 8:02 am

      That’s interesting – did you by chance play with the max_sectors setting? Different values don’t trash anything and from what I read, different external HDs might need different settings. Just a thought – it’s totally annoying, I agree.

  2. Debashish Rath
    October 22, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    Hello,
    I am using Linux 2.6.34 on Arm. With my buspowered WD usb disk i am not having any issue however with the self powered WD Passport I am having the same issue. I played with the max_sectors (128/64) however it didn’t help.

    Regards
    Debashish Rath

    • Dan
      October 24, 2010 at 10:16 pm

      As i wrote ealier, max_sectors doenst solve my problem either.
      Just adding that mine is a self powered edition as well and so there may be a connection there.

  3. Debashish Rath
    October 25, 2010 at 7:18 am

    Hello Dan,
    May be you are right about this self powered one.
    By the way, during a google search, i saw this problem listed in a lot of discussion forums and possible solutions given are max_sector, scheduling algo etc. But it seems nothing work. Is there a solution to this issue at all. And most importantly why this is not listed in kernel issue list.
    Regards
    Debashish

  4. Gordon Schulz
    October 25, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    … guess I kinda lucked out that max_sectors fixed my issues. But yeah, it seems like there is a definite connection to the self-powered editions; hope you guys are able to work this problem out.

  5. pioruns
    February 19, 2011 at 1:36 am

    modprobe -r ehci_hcd
    fixes issue.
    Check your system logs and you will see.

    • Gordon Schulz
      February 20, 2011 at 11:26 pm

      That’s quite probable – but unloading the USB 2.0 support (which that module handles) would leave the host with only USB 1.1 support. And that decline in speed I would not recommend to anyone.

    • August 8, 2011 at 1:48 am

      pioruns :
      modprobe -r ehci_hcd

      Great, it worked for me. In my cases the story was ending with kernel dumps and the drive was working with errors (the written information was incomplete, CRC errors, broken archives – complete paradise). I believe it’s better to have a slow drive, then non-working / erroneous drive.

      I am sure the drive is OK (I checked the status with S.M.A.R.T.), it’s the USB interface that introduced errors.

  6. Debashish Rath
    February 21, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    I got these messages after a long hour test (10 to 15 hour), in my case i cann’t unload usb. I am afraid this is not the solution, atleast not in my case.

  7. Wojtek
    January 13, 2012 at 9:22 am

    My WD 320GB drive seems to work very well it if is connected to USB2.0 port using
    enclosed short USB cable, and does not work at all when using USB extender cable.
    Mayby cabling problem? Either external cable or perhaps inside PC?
    Also, I am using ext3 with date=writeback and noatime (set by tune2fs and chattr)

  8. Laszlo
    March 6, 2012 at 8:43 am

    USB cables may differ in shield and ground connections: some cables connect the shield and USB ground together, some others are not. And some USB devices seems to work properly only with the first type of cable, so when shield is connected to USB ground. If not connected, then the USB power is not proper, and the device will fail after a while. (I think it is a design error.)
    About “reset high speed USB device using ehci_hcd” error: With my hardware, I experienced that this error come after several hours of normal operation, if ehci_hcd’s IRQ is shared with an other devcice, such as network card (eth0). Probably this issue is related only to certain motherboards.Changing the BIOS settings and freeing up interrupts seems to solve the problem.

  9. sy
    July 24, 2012 at 9:02 pm

    Hi there, i don’t have any issues with anything (i don’t even have any usb drives), but my syslog is getting spammed (few lines per second…) by this weird message…

  10. Lorenzo
    September 11, 2012 at 11:20 pm

    Thanks for the tip! It seems to have solved a similar problem on my Samsung YP-R2 player on Debian. Now I have to figure out how to make the change permanent for this device.

  1. February 7, 2012 at 6:50 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

