Home > linux > Getting the Linksys WUSB600N *v2* USB Stick to work in Linux [Update]

Getting the Linksys WUSB600N *v2* USB Stick to work in Linux [Update]

Update: Some guys from the Ubuntu forums prepared a pre-patched tarball and step by step instructions. Seems like the 2.5.x series of drivers from Ralink aren’t even able to connect to protected networks (way to go!); so you have to stick with the 2.4.x drivers. Those work really well though and still compile cleanly for a 3.0.x kernel.
Using above tarball is basically just a matter of make clean && make && make install and blacklisting rt2x00. On that matter: I tested the rt2x000 drivers and while they “sort of” work, as of writing this they are not suitable as replacement drivers – both in the stability as well as speed department.

 

So I had to get myself a Draft-N Wireless USB Stick for my HTPC. The ZOTAC MAG HD-ND01 I am running has some ath9k-using piece of crap chip inside that chokes in getting more than 1MB/s wireless throughput. Not acceptable. Even more so as it does not support the 5 GHz band.

Having had good experiences with Linksys products before, I opted for their WUSB600N stick – which I only realized later comes in two flavors. v1 and v2 versions… The v1 uses the rt2870sta driver, while the nowadays sold v2 uses the rt3572sta driver – which I *coughcough* only found out after an hour of trying to get the wireless interface up after loading the wrong driver. Which actually DOES load, but just doesn’t bring the ra0 interface up. Neither does it spit out any useful error messages, so I guess I could be excused. :)

So… basically, the steps involved in getting the WUSB600N v2 to work are:

  • get the RT3572USB driver from Ralink
  • unpack and stuff, cd into directory
  • do the stuff mentioned in the README, like enabling wpa_supplicant and networkmanager support
  • then search in the file common/rtusb_dev_id.c for something like this
{USB_DEVICE(0x1690,0x0744)}, /* 3572 */
{USB_DEVICE(0x5A57,0x0284)}, /* Zinwell 3572 */
{USB_DEVICE(0x167B,0x4001)}, /* 3572 */

and add this line beneath it, so the driver will actually recognize your WUSB600N as a device it should support. The actual device id can be found using lsusb, so basically this applies to any device.

{USB_DEVICE(0x1737,0x0079)}, /* WUSB600N v2 */
  • make/make install
  • then do your distribution-specific stuff to enable interfaces etc. etc.

My stick is now working absolutely flawlessly at throughputs of about 7MB/s; I recommend buying it if you need such an adapter.

Categories: linux Tags: ,
  1. zuuz
    February 24, 2010 at 3:57 am

    hey, the guide works very well, but i have a question. do you know if the device supports packet injection like the v1? thanks for info.

    • Gordon Schulz
      February 24, 2010 at 7:38 am

      Glad it worked for you. From what I tried and read on the subject – no, it unfortunately does not seem to support packet injection.

  2. zuuz
    February 24, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    thanks for your reply. have you tried to put your device into monitor mode with ifconfig? if yes, was it working? if no, can you please try and tell me if it works for you?

    thanks,
    zuuz

    • Gordon Schulz
      February 24, 2010 at 1:49 pm

      I’m at work currently – but I can and will try that once I get home. I’ll get back to you then. :)

  3. zuuz
    February 26, 2010 at 9:14 am

    thank you gordon :)

  4. Login
    March 4, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    hey Gordon Schulz thanks for the guied i was very confused on this topic but you made my mind clear so now i have one last question that how to put the device into monitor mode so please help

  5. Gordon Schulz
    March 5, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    I tried and frankly, I failed. So well… sorry, can’t help on putting this thing into any sort of monitor mode. And as I have basically no use for it anyway, kinda don’t feel motivated to put work into it. ;p

  6. Ivar
    March 7, 2010 at 9:51 am

    Thanks a lot for posting this, it worked like a charm right away. Hopefully this guide can help many others with this great adapter.
    Ivar

    • Gordon Schulz
      March 7, 2010 at 11:29 am

      Glad it worked for you. And yes – it is a sweet adapter. I just hope Ralink one day puts together better documentation and/or distributions pick the drivers up. Their devices work really well once they work, but yeah… it involves some work. ;p

  7. March 23, 2010 at 12:49 am

    Hello,

    I’m having problems with the WUSB600N as well. Since I’m a Linux noob, can you provide me more detailed installation steps please?

    Kind regards

    • Gordon Schulz
      March 23, 2010 at 10:48 am

      Sure, would be glad to. Could you hook me up with some more information though? Like where the problems are, what distribution you use, etc.

  8. Big Dude
    March 25, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    Hi, I’ve tried this but I don’t understand the readme file. I don’t understand what it exactly wants me to do. Thank You!

    • Gordon Schulz
      March 25, 2010 at 7:55 pm

      You pretty much set

      # Support Wpa_Supplicant
      HAS_WPA_SUPPLICANT=y
      # Support Native WpaSupplicant for Network Maganger
      HAS_NATIVE_WPA_SUPPLICANT_SUPPORT=y

      and then you are done with that step. If you need any more help – please just ask. :)

  9. March 25, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    Ok it still didn’t work so I decided to start from zero. I used BT4 to access this website and I download the RT3572USB file onto the desktop. But there was no extracting because it opened it easily. so what I did I opened the “2009_1214″ file and drag and drop the file “2009_1214…” onto my desktop which gave me a error message but a blue folder showed up on my desktop which contain everything the other files had. Ok so what do I do from there(Sorry I’m not figuring this out easily)?!

    • Gordon Schulz
      March 26, 2010 at 10:54 am

      So… you extracted the archive? Can’t actually figure that out from what you wrote. If it did not, cd into your Download directory (or w/e the downloaded archive is) and type
      tar xfvj name_of_file
      After you got the extracted driver files, just proceed editing os/linux/config.mk with what I wrote in my reply above (the Wpa_Supplicant stuff). After that edit common/rtusb_dev_id.c (see original post), then make/make install.

  10. Big Dude
    April 7, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    I know this is going to sound really dumb but I’m a uber noob on linux. What does cd stand for?! Comand…??? Plus after I type those commands in can I just open the Kernol and when I type “airmon-ng” would it pick up all the wireless arround me and work like a charm or I have to do a bunch of othere stuff?!

    • Gordon Schulz
      April 7, 2010 at 7:19 pm

      It’s not dumb, everyone started somewhere.
      cd stands for ‘change directory’ and does… basically that. Changes your working directory.
      On that airmon-ng question … honestly, I never cared and doubt I ever will care for that kind of usage scenarios – so I cannot comment on it.

  11. Nav
    April 11, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    I was able to setup the WUSB600Nv2 stick in my SUSE 11.2 installation to connect to the network using the KNetworkManager (but not Yast), I now have an IP addresss from the router and can ping any computer in my network, but I still can’t get an internet connection.

    If I try to go to any website it says “server not found”. I am not very literate with Linux, if someone could please give some suggestions, that’d be appreciated.

    • Gordon Schulz
      April 12, 2010 at 1:51 am

      This sounds very much like an erroneous DNS-Configuration. Seems like your PC cannot translate domains to IP adresses (anymore). Would does your /etc/resolv.conf say?

      • Nav
        April 12, 2010 at 2:55 am

        Thanks for your reply!

        The IP address is dynamically obtained and the file /etc/resolv.conf has no entries in it.

      • Gordon Schulz
        April 12, 2010 at 11:11 am

        yup, then that is your problem. Usually the DNS configuration should be set via DHCP.
        Try adding

        nameserver 8.8.8.8

        to /etc/resolv.conf. It’s Google’s public DNS server, since I don’t know your ISP’s. :)

  12. Nav
    April 12, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    Thanks!

    I actually had added my my ISP’s nameserver and that did not help, then I added the goole public DNS server per your suggestion but that didn’t help either.

    I forgot to mention that there is an exclamation mark next to the wireless connection although it seems connected fine with an IP address and as I mentioned, I am able to get to my router’s admin page.

  13. Nav
    April 13, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    Thanks Gordon,

    Not really sure what helped but its working now, perhaps its the /etc/resolv.conf entry you suggested.

    Cheers

    • Gordon Schulz
      April 13, 2010 at 3:46 pm

      Glad to hear. Sometimes it’s just the small things. :) Enjoy.

  14. Christien Bunting
    July 28, 2010 at 8:28 am

    Hi. I have been able to get the device to work. However I have been unable to get it to connect at N speeds. If I set it to N only in the /etc/Wireless/RT2870STA/RT2870STA.dat it refuses to connect. If I set it to G only it connects, G/N connects only at G.

    Now if I use the device in winXP it auto connects at N with 130Mb/s. So I know it can connect at N.

    Has anyone been able to get the device to connect at N ?

    Thanks guys.

    • Gordon Schulz
      July 31, 2010 at 9:30 pm

      I have been using it at N-Speeds the second I got it to work. Usually connects at around 130Mbit/ish and is stable at those speeds.

  15. David Juhl
    September 7, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Has anyone got the drivers to compile against a kernel > 2.6.33? All I can do is 2.6.32.

    Portage 2.2_rc67-r2 (default/linux/amd64/2008.0, gcc-4.4.3, glibc-2.10.1-r1, 2.6.32.21-wirelessN01 x86_64)
    =================================================================
    System uname: Linux-2.6.32.21-wirelessN01-x86_64-Intel-R-_Pentium-R-_Dual_CPU_T2330_@_1.60GHz-with-gentoo-2.1.8
    Timestamp of tree: Sat, 04 Sep 2010 05:30:21 +0000
    distcc 3.1 x86_64-pc-linux-gnu [enabled]
    app-shells/bash: 4.0_p37
    dev-java/java-config: 2.1.11
    dev-lang/python: 2.6.5-r3
    dev-util/cmake: 2.8.1-r2
    sys-apps/baselayout: 2.1.8
    sys-apps/openrc: 0.6.1-r3
    sys-apps/sandbox: 2.2
    sys-devel/autoconf: 2.13, 2.65
    sys-devel/automake: 1.8.5-r4, 1.9.6-r3, 1.10.3, 1.11.1
    sys-devel/binutils: 2.20.1
    sys-devel/gcc: 4.4.3
    sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.4.1
    sys-devel/libtool: 2.2.6b
    sys-devel/make: 3.81-r2
    virtual/os-headers: 2.6.32
    ACCEPT_KEYWORDS=”amd64″
    ACCEPT_LICENSE=”*”
    CBUILD=”x86_64-pc-linux-gnu”
    CFLAGS=”-O2 -pipe”
    CHOST=”x86_64-pc-linux-gnu”
    CONFIG_PROTECT=”/etc /usr/share/X11/xkb /usr/share/config /var/lib/hsqldb”
    CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK=”/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/env.d /etc/env.d/java/ /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/gentoo-release /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/sandbox.d /etc/splash /etc/terminfo /etc/texmf/language.dat.d /etc/texmf/language.def.d /etc/texmf/updmap.d /etc/texmf/web2c /etc/udev/rules.d”
    CXXFLAGS=”-O2 -pipe”
    DISTDIR=”/usr/portage/distfiles”
    FEATURES=”assume-digests distcc distlocks fixpackages news parallel-fetch preserve-libs protect-owned sandbox sfperms strict unmerge-logs unmerge-orphans userfetch”
    GENTOO_MIRRORS=”http://distfiles.gentoo.org”
    LANG=”en_US.UTF-8″
    LDFLAGS=”-Wl,-O1 -Wl,–as-needed”
    LINGUAS=”en_US”
    MAKEOPTS=”-j5″
    PKGDIR=”/usr/portage/packages”
    PORTAGE_COMPRESS=”lzma”
    PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT=”/”
    PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS=”–recursive –links –safe-links –perms –times –compress –force –whole-file –delete –stats –timeout=180 –exclude=/distfiles –exclude=/local –exclude=/packages”
    PORTAGE_TMPDIR=”/var/tmp”
    PORTDIR=”/usr/portage”
    PORTDIR_OVERLAY=”/opt/personal/portage /var/lib/layman /var/lib/layman/dagger /var/lib/layman/gnome”
    SYNC=”rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage”
    USE=”X a52 aac aalib acl acpi alac alsa amd64 amr ao archive artworkextra automount avahi bash-completion berkdb bonjour bzip2 cairo cdda cddb cdparanoia cdr cli consolekit cracklib crypt cups curl cxx dbus device-mapper dga dhclient dirac directfb dri dvb dvd dvdr dvdread dxr3 emacs encode exchange exif faac faad fbcondecor ffmpeg firefox flac flickr fontconfig fontforge fortran ftp fuse gdbm gdu gif gimp git gmplayer gnome gnome-keyring gphoto2 gpm gsm gstreamer gtk guile hal httpd iconv iplayer java jpeg jpeg2k kdrive kerberos lame laptop lcms ldap live lm_sensors lzma lzo mad mmx mng modules mp3 mp3rtp mpeg mtp mudflap multilib multiuser musepack nautilus ncurses nethack network networkmanager nls nptl nptlonly nsplugin offensive ogg openal openexr opengl openmp oss pam pcre pda pdf perl phonon pic playlist png policykit pppd profile pulseaudio python qt3support raw readline reflection samba schroedinger sdl sdl-image session skins smp sndfile speex spl sqlite sse sse2 ssl ssse3 startup-notification static-libs subversion svg sysfs taglib tcpd theora threads tiff truetype udev unicode upnp usb v4l2 vorbis wavpack webkit wmf x264 xinerama xml xorg xosd xvid xvmc zlib” ALSA_CARDS=”ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci” ALSA_PCM_PLUGINS=”adpcm alaw asym copy dmix dshare dsnoop empty extplug file hooks iec958 ioplug ladspa lfloat linear meter mmap_emul mulaw multi null plug rate route share shm softvol” APACHE2_MODULES=”actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache cgi cgid dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias” CAMERAS=”adc65 agfa_cl20 aox barbie canon casio_qv clicksmart310 digigr8 digita dimagev dimera3500 directory enigma13 fuji gsmart300 hp215 iclick jamcam jd11 jl2005a kodak_dc120 kodak_dc210 kodak_dc240 kodak_dc3200 kodak_ez200 konica konica_qm150 largan lg_gsm mars mustek panasonic_coolshot panasonic_dc1000 panasonic_dc1580 panasonic_l859 pccam300 pccam600 polaroid_pdc320 polaroid_pdc640 polaroid_pdc700 ptp2 ricoh ricoh_g3 samsung sierra sipix_blink sipix_blink2 sipix_web2 smal sonix sony_dscf1 sony_dscf55 soundvision spca50x sq905 stv0674 stv0680 sx330z template topfield toshiba_pdrm11″ ELIBC=”glibc” INPUT_DEVICES=”evdev keyboard mouse synaptics” KERNEL=”linux” LCD_DEVICES=”bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text” LINGUAS=”en_US” RUBY_TARGETS=”ruby18″ USERLAND=”GNU” VIDEO_CARDS=”intel” XTABLES_ADDONS=”quota2 psd pknock lscan length2 ipv4options ipset ipp2p iface geoip fuzzy condition tee tarpit sysrq steal rawnat logmark ipmark dhcpmac delude chaos account”
    Unset: CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, FFLAGS, INSTALL_MASK, LC_ALL, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS

    • Gordon Schulz
      September 7, 2010 at 10:30 am

      Personally I didn’t try a newer kernel, no – since my HTPC still runs Ubuntu 9.10 which uses some 2.6.31ish kernel (I think). Which driver version did you try from Ralink? As far as I can remember they bumped the driver version up and it broke … something.

  16. David Juhl
    September 7, 2010 at 10:33 am

    2.6.32.21 Seems to be the highest I can go, and the staging drivers for this chipset do not work. I just did what you said above to get it running for the 2.6.32.2 kernel

    I guess I’ll need to learn a little C to fix this lol.

  17. David Juhl
    September 7, 2010 at 10:56 am

    I’m trying this http://www.crack-wifi.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=2169 with the help of Google translate.

    • Gordon Schulz
      September 7, 2010 at 11:31 am

      Hmm… doesn’t look like it’s for the RT3572USB line really. BTW: What error do you get while compiling the driver with a kernel >= 2.6.32.2?

  18. David Juhl
    September 7, 2010 at 11:35 am

    No errors. What I am saying is I can only use the 2.6.32.2 kernel. I wanted to use the latest kernel, which really isn’t necessary, but is something I’d like to do. I haven’t kept the results of compiling it to a higher kernel. I just kept on dropping kernel versions.

    • Gordon Schulz
      September 7, 2010 at 11:42 am

      Yeah, that’s why I’m curious since I will probably have to move to some newer kernel sometime, too. ;) Did it compile ok and just didn’t work when loaded or did gcc choke on it?

  19. David Juhl
    September 7, 2010 at 11:47 am

    Like I said. 2.6.32 and below series seems to be the ONLY kernel your method works with. http://forum.aircrack-ng.org/index.php?topic=7974;prev_next=next
    That forums seems to point to a BackTrack forum written in French and specifically states the same usb adapter. I’ll let you know if it works.

    • Gordon Schulz
      September 7, 2010 at 11:54 am

      Looking forward to it – good luck! :)

  20. David Juhl
    September 7, 2010 at 11:59 am

    Playing with firmware now. The module seems to load.

    “I also had to download and extract rt3071.bin firmware (yeah, looks more than strange – rt3572 chipset, working with rt2800 driver and rt3071 firmware ) from Debian’s firmware-ralink 0.24 staging package here:”

    it wants to load 2870.bin

  21. David Juhl
    September 7, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    Crap it started to work. I got a light. know all the kernel module wants to load is rt2870.bin as the firmware

    So Close

    but initially it tried to load rt3071.bin as the firmware. And gave me the light.

    So…. Who knows

  22. David Juhl
    September 7, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Keeps on telling me wlan0 device not ready after trying to load rt2870.bin but detects the chipset

  23. David Juhl
    September 7, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    All intense purposes… It is failing lol. A lot of troubleshooting I need to do.

  24. Afiso
    February 21, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    I would like to see someone adding a video to youtube how to install the WUSB600Nv2 to backtrack4.
    What a pain in the as getting it to work. 2 weeks now and still it doesn’t work :(
    Lights turn on now but it doesn’t find no routers. even my router it doens find. :(

    • February 22, 2011 at 9:06 am

      Sorry, I know nothing about backtrack; but yeah, it kinda is a bit of a pain.

  25. Rodney
    February 25, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    I have completed all steps before here…

    # make/make install
    # then do your distribution-specific stuff to enable interfaces etc. etc

    but I can’t make it past the above steps…because I tried compiling and everything but kept getting errors with the make option.

    • February 26, 2011 at 9:12 am

      Could you post me the errors make spits out? Maybe I can make something out of it…

  26. David Juhl
    February 26, 2011 at 11:08 am

    You need to use a kernel < 2.6.32. i don't know why. i can't program. That is the only way i could get it to compile.

    • February 26, 2011 at 11:14 am


      [...]
      Building modules, stage 2.
      MODPOST 1 modules
      CC /tmp/2010_1215_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO/os/linux/rt3572sta.mod.o
      LD [M] /tmp/2010_1215_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO/os/linux/rt3572sta.ko
      make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.35-25-generic-pae'
      [...]


      Linux t500linux 2.6.35-25-generic-pae #44-Ubuntu SMP Fri Jan 21 19:01:46 UTC 2011 i686 GNU/Linux

      Just checked out the newest version on a pretty plain Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick – compiles like a charm on 2.6.35 for me.

  27. Rodney
    February 26, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    I think I figured out the compiling issue but adapter still didn’t work so not sure what is going on. I copied what was said when I did the compile..

    rodney@ubuntu:~$ cd Desktop
    rodney@ubuntu:~/Desktop$ cd 2010_1215_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO
    rodney@ubuntu:~/Desktop/2010_1215_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO$ make
    make -C tools
    make[1]: Entering directory `/home/rodney/Desktop/2010_1215_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO/tools’
    gcc -g bin2h.c -o bin2h
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/rodney/Desktop/2010_1215_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO/tools’
    /home/rodney/Desktop/2010_1215_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO/tools/bin2h
    cp -f os/linux/Makefile.6 /home/rodney/Desktop/2010_1215_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO/os/linux/Makefile
    make -C /lib/modules/2.6.35-22-generic/build SUBDIRS=/home/rodney/Desktop/2010_1215_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO/os/linux modules
    make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.35-22-generic’
    CC [M] /home/rodney/Desktop/2010_1215_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO/os/linux/../../common/rtmp_mcu.o
    LD [M] /home/rodney/Desktop/2010_1215_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO/os/linux/rt3572sta.o
    Building modules, stage 2.
    MODPOST 1 modules
    LD [M] /home/rodney/Desktop/2010_1215_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO/os/linux/rt3572sta.ko
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.35-22-generic’
    rodney@ubuntu:~/Desktop/2010_1215_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO$ sudo make install
    make -C /home/rodney/Desktop/2010_1215_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO/os/linux -f Makefile.6 install
    mkdir: cannot create directory `/etc/Wireless': File exists
    make[1]: Entering directory `/home/rodney/Desktop/2010_1215_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO/os/linux’
    rm -rf /etc/Wireless/RT2870STA
    mkdir /etc/Wireless/RT2870STA
    cp /home/rodney/Desktop/2010_1215_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO/RT2870STA.dat /etc/Wireless/RT2870STA/.
    install -d /lib/modules/2.6.35-22-generic/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/
    install -m 644 -c rt3572sta.ko /lib/modules/2.6.35-22-generic/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/
    /sbin/depmod -a 2.6.35-22-generic
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/rodney/Desktop/2010_1215_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO/os/linux’
    rodney@ubuntu:~/Desktop/2010_1215_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO$

    • February 26, 2011 at 5:07 pm

      Weird… light on the adapter turns on once you load the module? What’s lsmod say?

    • February 26, 2011 at 5:08 pm

      … and anything in your syslog?

  28. Rodney
    February 26, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    No light doesn’t come on..and I’ll check on the other two things

    • February 26, 2011 at 5:57 pm

      That usually means the module isn’t loaded or the modification you had to made aren’t correct – the output from lsmod should help determining that.

  29. Robin
    May 28, 2011 at 4:57 am

    I don’t suppose you have the source archive around that you used? The most current version on the ralink site is: 2011_0427_RT3572_Linux_STA_v2.5.0.0.DPO, and it causes this kind of fun:

    http://pastebin.com/fDrD3hit

    A 2.4.0 version works, but is very unstable, constantly dropping out and requiring me to re-plug the USB to reset it.

    • May 30, 2011 at 7:47 am

      Robin, I actually should have the source archive around on my box at home – I’ll check for it once I get home and get back to you.

  30. Robin
    May 30, 2011 at 7:56 am

    Actually, more experimentation over the weekend found out that the issue was an interaction between network-manager and the driver. Switching to wicd made the problem go away. However, having the source file would be handy if only to have on hand in case another issue comes up with the one I’m using.

  31. August 9, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    I’m sorry… but that is the worst explanation of how to do it. I’m a newbie on compiling programs from source on Linux. This guide was horrible at explaining stuff.

    • August 10, 2011 at 9:02 am

      Sorry to hear that – I’ll make sure you’ll get your money back. Thanks for your detailed questions so I could help you out.

  32. Andy
    August 29, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    Hi Guys,

    So could it be, that the only stable version of RT3572 is 2.3.0.0?
    I played around with 2.5.0.0, 2.4.0.2 but they all have problems.

    Is there a inofficial driver archive where i can get older packages?

    Thanks.

  33. Andy
    September 14, 2011 at 9:39 am

    Hi,

    This very helping me out off the trouble with this fu***** chipset, seems to work fine with all 802.11* modes.

    Thanks!

    • September 14, 2011 at 10:08 am

      Glad it’s working for you. It’s indeed a chipset from hell. Way down there.

  34. en1gma
    October 24, 2011 at 7:23 am

    could someone put all drivers and all firmwares up here?
    i would like to be able to mix and match
    thanks

  35. nanakai
    October 26, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    Hello, could someone please help me Im having trouble on compiling and i downloaded the gcc compiler, when i type “make” i come up with this :

    nanakai@linux-0p0g:~/Documents/2009_1214_RT3572_LinuxSTA_V2.3.0.0> make
    make -C tools
    make[1]: Entering directory `/home/nanakai/Documents/2009_1214_RT3572_LinuxSTA_V2.3.0.0/tools’
    gcc -g bin2h.c -o bin2h
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/nanakai/Documents/2009_1214_RT3572_LinuxSTA_V2.3.0.0/tools’
    /home/nanakai/Documents/2009_1214_RT3572_LinuxSTA_V2.3.0.0/tools/bin2h
    cp -f os/linux/Makefile.6 /home/nanakai/Documents/2009_1214_RT3572_LinuxSTA_V2.3.0.0/os/linux/Makefile
    make -C /lib/modules/2.6.31.14-0.8-default/build SUBDIRS=/home/nanakai/Documents/2009_1214_RT3572_LinuxSTA_V2.3.0.0/os/linux modules
    make: *** /lib/modules/2.6.31.14-0.8-default/build: No such file or directory. Stop.
    make: *** [LINUX] Error 2

    (SORRY IM VERY NEW TO LINUX)

    • October 26, 2011 at 9:29 pm

      This looks like you don’t have the necessary kernel headers installed. Which distribution do you use? If Ubuntu/Debian try installing build-essential. That should pull in the necessary dependencies.
      And no need to be sorry, we all started at some point.

      • nanakai
        October 26, 2011 at 10:32 pm

        I’m not sure wich distribution i have, how can i find out? I dont know much of anything about OpenSuse linux started using it 2 weeks ago.But I downloaded Ubuntu build essential hoping thats what I need, do i need to get it activated somehow in Terminal ? =/

      • October 27, 2011 at 10:40 am

        Hell no, you cannot and don’t want to use any Ubuntu package on your OpenSuse. My last experience with Suse is like from 10 years ago – maybe try installing linux-kernel-headers and see if this fixes the issue for you.

  36. nanakai
    October 26, 2011 at 11:38 pm

    I have SuSe Linux distribution

  1. March 7, 2010 at 10:07 am
  2. January 18, 2011 at 2:11 pm
  3. September 5, 2011 at 8:01 pm
  4. January 7, 2012 at 2:55 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

