Home > kde, unix > A simple tweak to make your GTK Fonts look nice in KDE

A simple tweak to make your GTK Fonts look nice in KDE

… at least when using Sidux. :)
I was quite annoyed yesterday because my KDE fonts looked simply crispy and marvellous, yet the ones in Pidgin and Iceweasel/Firefox (pretty much the only GTK apps I use) looked like shit. gtk-qt-engine does a good job keeping my fonts the same, but there was simply no anti-aliasing going on in GTK apps which I seriously hate. I am used to AA. I want it everywhere! :)
Diving into /etc/fonts it was pretty obvious that I was missing one thing there….

ln -s /etc/fonts/conf.avail/10-autohint.conf /etc/fonts/conf.d/

This turns on the Auto-Hinter systemwide – something which you do for your KDE fonts in Control Center, but usually can’t do without installing a crap ton of GNOME dependencies for GTK apps. This does it. And boy does it make a difference.

Categories: kde, unix Tags: , ,
  1. Paul H
    September 9, 2008 at 4:10 am

    Thank you so much for this simple tip. I have been going nuts over the awful fonts in GTK apps in KDE for so long. This is wonderful! I really can’t say thank you enough.

  2. Paul H
    September 9, 2008 at 4:12 am

    Oh, I forgot to mention that I am using Kubuntu 8.04.

  3. December 8, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    Thanks. Firefox and all other gtk apps look good now!

  4. February 22, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    Thanks bro!!! it worked.

  5. Cris
    September 26, 2010 at 10:07 am

    Wow. That’s all I can say.

  6. August 24, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    This worked like a charmin Kubuntu 11.04 64 bit.
    Thank you thank you thank you :-)

  7. August 24, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    Actually, this post is pretty outdated by now… it still works, tho. :)
    You might want to take a look at http://gordonazmo.wordpress.com/2011/06/07/switching-your-default-sanssans-serifmonospace-fonts-2-5/

  8. Hepea Kpu
    November 16, 2012 at 6:00 pm

    Thanks man ! I’ll pray for your soul ! :)))

  9. trig-ger
    November 24, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    It simple, and it works! Thank you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

